The modern world nowadays know our planets by their names in relation to the Olympian pantheon. The Greeks and Romans mythologies are intertwined with each other, with each deity having their equivalent in the other culture. However, we now follow the convention of Roman names due to the expansion of Roman empire and the Catholic Church.

What if we had followed the Greeks instead?

Our solar system then will be known as a collection of these planets, starting from our parent star Helios:

  • Hermes
  • Aphrodite
  • Gaea
  • Ares
  • Zeus
  • Kronos
  • Uranos
  • Poseidon

And our beloved dwarf planet:

  • Pluton. I wonder, shouldn’t it be Hades instead?

Of course, if we had followed Ptolemy as well, the earth is the center of the system, not the sun. That culprit set us back 1500 years of progress.