I can’t believe it took me 5 years before I write this post.

When I was doing A-level, I stayed in a hostel apartment with other Taylor’s College students. During our 3rd semester, an Uzbek named Denis moved in with us. We christened him Din (a common Malay name), and Din stayed on to become our culturally-challenged distributor of cold meat and salami. His best contribution however, were HIM, Дискотека Авария (Diskoteka Avariya) and (7B).

There was this upbeat song by 7Б that me and my Malay housemates love, a hilariously cute ditty. We never found out what the real title was, and just called it “yiyiyii mayo!” because that was what the chorus sounds like:

And…after 5 years, I found it out!It’s a song called Осень (Autumn) from the album Molodye Vetra. I found the Russian lyrics and ran them through Babelfish. This came out (I made some grammatical change where seem appropriate):

The light of your window for me of pogas (??),
it became suddenly dark.
And, became nevertheless, to eat it
or not that magic light.

Light of your window, the light of my love,
the pain of my love.
You let go of me, you let go of me
I no longer call, do not call, do not call.

Autumn, autumn, forest it cooled and leaves threw me out
dashing wind it chases them after me.
Autumn, autumn, well give in leaves let us ask,
where it is May, eternal May.

The light of your window, there was it or there is no I
it fell out the first snow.
Snow the same water, it rastayet (??) and it will leave
as my misfortune, once and for all.

Autumn, autumn, forest it cooled and leaves threw me out
dashing wind it chases them after me.
Autumn, autumn, well give in leaves let us ask,
where it is May, eternal May.

It doesn’t make much sense at first, but hey..it must be lost in translation. This is beautiful. Anyone can give me a proper English translation?

So here it is—If, Cam, Pu3, Eriz, Ateng and Encik Sham..a memento of our friendship! Hope you guys enjoy this.

And wherever you are Den..thanks for the music!

