When I started this blog one year ago, I had a picture in my mind of how it should be like. It would discuss topics that I find interesting, which mainly consists of music, current affairs and major geekery.

In fact, I try to avoid talking about my personal life and feelings, since I don’t think a lot of people would find them interesting. Hell, even I don’t find my life interesting enough.

On 25 October 2007, Coffee Conversations was officially live with my first post, an ode to the late great talent that is Robert Jordan, fantasy scribe extraordinaire.

When I started Coffee Conversations, I was in a midst of dissatisfaction with the host of my previous blog in zek.blog-city.com (domain already dead), and at first was even thinking of opening a blog in Blogger (*.blogspot.com). However, I’d heard so many good things about the WordPress engine that I decided to try it out.

A year on, I am enjoying blogging even more, very happy with WordPress (hey it’s the most awesomest blog engine. ever. try it now!) and so so amused that people keep commenting on posts I did months ago, which I have already lost interest in. Case in point: “Oh MIMOS, When Will You Learn!

I am glad and proud that with WordPress, I have the chance of people from all over the world discovering what I have to say (which is flattering indeed) and even discussing it. As I have expected, some people really took unnecessary offense to my points of view and critiques. However instead of discussing and debating the topics politely, most just resort to personal attacks.

In any case, at least I know I’m moving in the right direction if people find my posts worthy enough of attack. Haha.

Another of my goal is to promote blogging as a means of disseminating information and writing as a way of expressing your opinions/thoughts/feelings. I feel obliged to put the links of my friends’ blogs, so that a lot of people would be directed to your blog, hence generating traffic to your blog, therefore motivating you to write more. =)

Here’s to another year of good conversations over coffee*.

* expression stolen shamelessly from Sabrina Hanim.

Interestingˆ stats about Coffee Conversations in 2007 (as of Saturday, 25 October 2008, 12.30 pm):

Total views: 16,349
Busiest day: 156 – Thursday, 21 August 2008
Total posts: 72
Total comments: 185
Total categories:35
Total tags: 290
Spam blocked: 471

ˆ might not actually be interesting.

