Last Saturday was Pi Day. Congratulations to The US House of Representatives for approving a resolution that designates March 14 as National Pi Day.

The next Pi Day is on 22/7. =)

* * * * *

Two things of significant importance to this post happened last Saturday.

The first is the debut of Facebook’s new latest look. I woke up in the morning to be greeted (on the news feed, of course) by people freaking out and professing their hate for the new look. So, I posted this status:

Okay, that was mighty insensitive of me, taking the mick out of bewildered people. Sorry if anyone was offended.

*sniggers*

I mean, why the hate and outrage? Facebook IS the devil, and you knew this would happen one day. They did it once already and there was bugger all you could do about it then, even after 1,638,626 members joined the Petition Against New Facebook group. Remember when you first joined Facebook and declared it as “the best thing evar”? Well, you should’ve thought of this back then.

Guess what? The new layout of the home page is not even new. The option had always been there, in the “Live Feed” tab. Only now, they’ve made it the only option. My friend Nora said it best: :

Why do people resist change so much? It’s not even a drastic life-changing sort of change.

You want to know what Facebook had done that was even worse than changing the layout? Last month they changed their Terms of Services regarding user-generated content. In short, Facebook could use, modify or sub-licence anything that you have ever uploaded, even after you quit Facebook.

Nobody, NOBODY freaked out and complained about that in their Facebook statuses. Pah.

* * * * *

The second event was the 4-1 thrashing of Manchester United by Liverpool. Now, I’m just a casual football fan, and I support neither of them, so I don’t really want to talk about this match between two of the biggest clubs in English Premier League.

Instead, I want to tell you that just before and along the match, I could see status updates from Man U and Liverpool fans alike on my Facebook home page. They commented on each other’s statuses on who was going to win, and why.

The moment Liverpool won though, was another story. The home page was littered with statuses: jubilation of Liverpool fans and the anguish of Man U supporters. And my, the trash talking that ensued! Liverpool fans, self-satisfied with the big win, and mocked the hell out of their opponents, although the win brought them nowhere near the top of the table. Man U fans, with their sore-loser talks, and comeback quips about them still being the leader of the table.

It was the kind of global interaction that hadn’t been seen since forums were popular back in the days! You could hardly escape the conversation, as my friend Wandi said:

Omg, the news on Man Utd vs Liverpool are all over the net, keep haunting me on twitter, facebook, reader, forums… urgh!

Sure, this has always happened in Twitter, but since just a number of my friends follow each other in Twitter, and the sheer number of people in Facebook, this was the first time I experienced this instant connection between people on a global scale. Suddenly, I could see that the live feed is indeed, the future of Facebook.

The only thing I loathe about the live feed is now suddenly I have to see everyone’s updates, including all those quizzes they take.

I don’t want to know about everybody, you know.

