58006853 Most of the time, I’m quite a bastard when it comes to charity. It’s hard to fork out some money for people on the other side of the world that I can barely relate to, or for a concept of Earth or nature too big to wrap around my head. It’s just worse that I hardly have anything to fork out anyway.

With great surprise, I have made up my mind to support To Write Love On Her Arms (TWLOHA), a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury and suicide.

I’m doing this through a widget by SocialVibe and WordPress which I now have in my sidebar to the right. With this widget, one can choose a sponsor who will donate an amount of money to the charity organisation of one’s choosing, based on the number of people clicking the widget.

My campaign is sponsored by truth, which is a non-profit youth smoking prevention campaign. To help this cause, you just have to click on the widget and sign a petition on smoking, nothing big. It will ask for your zip code, so just enter your Malaysian postcode, it’s pretty much the same digits.

I am not going to actively pursue anybody to contribute. If you happen to be browsing through my blog, or blog-hopping, just give the widget a click if it’s not too much of a bother, yeah?

Depression is not something that is strange to me—having been its grip for more than a year. It wrecked my life and my relationship with my loved ones.

I also know a lot of people who are suffering or have suffered from the same affliction. It is a very much common happening, you are definitely not alone. Everyone in depression thinks the same—that there is no hope, and that no one will ever understand what they go through.

But I do know that, to beat depression you have to love yourself. You must know your self-worth and that people do love you, no matter how bad the situation you are in. Surround yourself with friends and loved ones, never be alone. Talk, no matter to whom. Find solace in the embrace of family. Pray to whichever God or Gods you may worship.

If you find it too hard to talk to someone you know, start by seeking a counsellor. You can also anonymously call the helplines. Here is a list of helpful services in Australia. If you are in Malaysia, there is Befrienders, which was inspired by Samaritans, a similar group in the UK.

Just know that things will get better. Somebody once told me “Where else is there to go, if not up, when you hit rock bottom?“.

Lastly, if you are right now battling with depression, I leave you with this blog post from TWLOHA:

You are going to move through this.

More importantly, I love you. YOU ARE GOING TO MOVE THROUGH THIS.

Don’t be defeated. Submit yourself to the process. You are growing. You are changing. You are doing LIFE.

I am not trying to make you feel better. This fucking hurts, and there are no two ways around it.

But I am trying to encourage you to not retreat. I can’t remove the pain, but I am going to hold your hand while it hurts.

Continue to reach out. You need people right now.

I’m here for anything you need.

You are LOVED in ways you cannot imagine. In ways that don’t depend on you. In ways that don’t depend on your performance. In ways that cannot be lost. Remember Remember Remember.

Love you my friend.

– Anonymous

You, yes you, we do love you.

